NIGHT 11E - Minster (NIGHT 11E)
Leaf Shop

Minster by Nightports
Formats: Digital (NIGHT 11E)
Release Date: 7 April 2023

Following rare access to the bell tower at Hull Minster in September 2021, this immersive electronic work is made entirely of recordings of the bells that have rung out over the city of Hull for centuries, and of the clock mechanism that has marked that time. With live spatialisation across 24 speakers set up around the magnificent Hull Minster, this music delves deep into the resonances of the place and plays with the rich acoustics of the building.

Nightports is based on a simple rule of restriction: only sounds captured for a particular project can be used. Nothing else – no samples or synths or drum machines – though the sounds captured can be stretched, cut, morphed and twisted, ordered and reordered. All of the sounds of this performance come from Hull Minster. It is music in and of this special place.

This work was created with support from PRS Foundation’s The Open Fund for Music Creators.

Bookmark and Share
1. Tolls
2. Seek
3. Move
4. Mechanica
5. Trinity
6. Stone