BAY 14V - The Noodles Foundation Presents: The Death Of Cool: Part 2 (BAY 14V)
Leaf Shop
Amazon UK

The Noodles Foundation Presents: The Death Of Cool: Part 2 by Various Artists
Formats: Limited Edition Double Vinyl LP (2,000 copies) (BAY14V)
Release Date: 2 April 2001

Three years on since Part 1, here is the second double LP to emerge from the self-appointed 'Stupidest Recording Organisation in the World', The Noodles Foundation. Selected and edited by the enigmatic Lenny 'The Stylus' Logan, this is no-brow entertainment at its finest...

From the sister label to Si Begg's already notorious Noodles Discotheque imprint, the album has been licensed to The Leaf Label for the world. If The Death Of Cool: Part 1 was a riot of colour, noise, and above all, good honest fun, then Part 2 turns the insanity all the way up to 11. Taking in electro, jazz, funk, hip-hop, country, gameshow theme tunes, and, of course, quality songwriting talent, and featuring the work of such luminaries as Mouse On Mars, Jamie Lidell, Neil Landstrumm and Sand (not to mention Mr Begg himself under a variety of pseudonyms) the LP achieves a delicate balance between whimsical humour, aural satire, sonic irritation and full-on dancefloor (satisf)action. Not unlike the work of Manchester's V/Vm crew, only with tunes, the LP is an insight into Begg's somewhat twisted (morally corrupt?) worldview.

Perhaps we could draw your attention to a couple of the album's finer moments: Michael Forshaw's unforgettable electroboogie monster 'Work That Mutha', Dr Kosmos's cheery pier-end number 'Holiday', Steve Dixon's peculiarly touching rendition of 'I Dream Of Genie', not to mention Mou Ars On's 'Putza Tock Baby' (wonder who that could be?).


Zygmunt Janowski is the founder of the Noodles Foundation and recorded a series of highly acclaimed Hammond organ albums in the 70s.

Si Begg does many things under many names including Buckfunk 3000 and Cabbage Boy. He's probably in your record collection somewhere. He is also head of A&R at Noodles Recordings.

The Buttmasters are people you don't want to know.

Jamie Lidell is half of Super_Collider, now releasing solo material on Warp.

Mou Ars On are in fact Mouse On Mars under another name because they're cheeky monkeys. They're also Cologne's top drawer electronic favourites who we're sure you all know and love.

As well as composing his own brand of urban four-track folk, Mr (Robin) Mahoney has directed feature films and worked on Channel 4's experimental series The Trip. He's also chief architect and curator of the HO-FUN bonus CDROM thing, that will be sellotaped to 1,000 copies of The Complete Death Of Cool.

MDK is Basall Common's top light entertainment act and Shepherd's Bush systems analyst. He's also just completed his second LP for Spymania. Visit for more answers.

Cabbage Head are elusive multimedia artists who have been in operation for over ten years.

Kit Kabooki is a Sheffield based cheese arranger responsible for Morrison's fine delicatessen counter displays throughout the north of England. He is a close collaborator of Dr Dobrovolski and Bubblegunner records.

Deep Burial is a project from Dublin, part of the Ultramack stable.

Sand are currently signed to Satellite records and have released an album called Beautiful People Are Evil.

Anodyne is another member of the Ultramack stable. His first album was recorded almost entirely on an Amiga home computer, his next one is going to be very loud.

Michael Forshaw is an artist from Blackpool who has also appeared on Penalty and Magic Trax, he has his own label (Mike And Chan's records) and all his tracks are recorded on a fucking Wurlitzer.

Neil Landstrumm is currently the king of New York. He has also been infecting MTV kids with his multimedia experiments.

Dr Kosmos is Sweden's finest cabaret artiste and has collaborated with the likes of Beige as well as having his own CD out on North Of No South.

Cursor Miner is a new block on the kid who also records for Lo Recordings.

Culture Cruncher is an internet based artist whose releases crop up from time to time on various web sites and FTPs. Due to serious copyright violations of the past he keeps his head down and his current geographical location is unknown.

Steve Dixon was the man behind Drug Free America, pre-trance racketeers of the highest order. He has released a new solo album, Cage Without A Pet.

Bookmark and Share
A1 Zygmunt Janowski - Intro
A2 Si Begg - New And Different Kind Of Experiment
A3 he Buttmasters - Dirty Tackle
A4 Jamie Lidell - Mouth Fool
A5 Mou Ars On - Putza Tock Baby
B1 Mr. Mahoney - Sunnyside
B2 MDK - I Don't Know
B3 Cabbage Head - Future / Today
B4 Kit Kabooki - Sunday Monday
B5 Deep Burial - Gimme That Wine
B6 The Buttmasters - Eponymous Or Something Chesty
B7 Sand - Take 42
B8 Anodyne - Breakbeat EXP.9
C1 The Buttmasters - Sweet Dreams
C2 Michael Forshaw - Work That Mutha
C3 The Buttmasters - Half
C4 Cabbage Head - Funfunfun
C5 The Buttmasters - Lawn Food
C6 Neil Landstrumm - Titos Block
C7 Doktor Kosmos - Holiday
C8 Zygmunt Janowski - Rock 1
D1 Cursor Miner - This Must Be The Place
D2 Culture Cruncher - Spice
D3 Cabbage Head - Commercial Suicide
D4 Steve Dixon - I Dream Of Genie