BAY 121 - The Alias Sessions (BAY 121)
Leaf Shop
Amazon UK
Amazon US
iTunes UK
iTunes US

The Alias Sessions by Murcof
Formats: Digital (BAY 121E) Double CD (BAY 121CD) Black vinyl 3LP + DL (BAY121V) Limited edition concrete grey vinyl 3LP + DL (BAY 121VX) (500 copies) Limited edition blood red vinyl 3LP + DL (BAY 121VN) (300 copies)
Release Date: 21 May 2021

Murcof, the primary project of producer Fernando Corona, returns to The Leaf Label for the first time in thirteen years with a mammoth and visionary double album, 'The Alias Sessions'. This collection brings together all the elements incorporated into the project to date - meticulous sound design, ghostly samples, forceful beats, diaphanous atmosphere - but pushes the sound even further in terms of both abstraction and beauty. This is electronic music of exquisite tension and ecstatic release, moving from barely audible details to explosive peaks, much of it delivered by earth-moving bass.

The Alias Sessions is the most ambitious and wide-ranging Murcof album to date - less about the individual components of a track and more about the cumulative force of the set as a whole. Corona has composed several film scores and that experience with atmosphere informs these tracks. The record benefits from careful and focused attention, preferably over longer periods - it’s too expressive and dynamic to remain in the background.

Corona began work on this music in April 2017, when he met with choreographer Guilherme Botelho, leader of Geneva-based dance company Alias, about a new performance piece - ‘Contre-Mondes’. Versions of these compositions make up the first half of the album. Corona continued work with the organisation for a 2018 performance entitled ‘Normal.’ which now forms the second part of the record.

“I’m always looking for new unheard sounds,” Corona says. “To create weird associations and contrasts between sounds of a different nature.” The Alias Sessions is the glorious result of this desire put into practice.

Bookmark and Share
1. Inner Hunt
2. Dandelion Heart
3. Unboxing Utopia
4. Nocturnal Sunrise
5. Underwater Lament
6. Inevitable Truth
7. Between Thoughts
8. Dropped Soul
9. Shadow Surfing
1. Surface Wear
2. Ideology Storm
3. Dividing Space
4. Fire Thief
5. Systemic Amnesia
6. Unread Letter
7. Void Glance

Buy album