If you've got this far, you've probably got hold one of our Don't Run Over The Birds, Please cards. If so, just pop the access code on the back into the box below, and you'll be able to download nine tracks from our current and forthcoming releases, some of which are exclusive to this sampler. We are very pleased to introduce you to two new signings to the label - Chicago's Icy Demons and Finnish electronic composer Vladislav Delay. After you're done here, why not take a look around our all new website. And if you sign up for our email list there are even more free tracks for you to download. Enjoy, and thanks for listening.


1. Icy Demons - 1850
Icy Demons revolve around Griffin Rodriguez, mainstay of the Chicago music scene. '1850' is taken from their freewheeling third album, Miami Ice, which will be released in April. We're hoping to get the follow up out before the end of the year too.
More Info
2. Efterklang & The Danish National Chamber Orchestra - Frida Found A Friend (live)
In September 2008, Efterklang performed a fully orchestrated version of their 2007 album Parades in their hometown of Copenhagen, Denmark. The shows were recorded and filmed, and we will be releasing a CD/DVD package of the concert this autumn. Here's an exclusive chance to hear one of the songs.
More Info
3. A Hawk And A Hacksaw - Kertész
'Kertész' is taken from A Hawk And A Hacksaw's fourth long player, Délivrance, out in May. From Albuquerque, New Mexico, Jeremy Barnes and Heather Trost brilliantly meld Eastern European and North American folk traditions. They will be touring with a new band throughout 2009.
More Info
4. Nancy Elizabeth - Tow The Line
A brand new song, which will be included on Nancy's second album, scheduled for release in autumn 2009. Wrought Iron promises to move the Wigan-based songwriter into darker, more deliciously melancholy territory.
More Info
5. Murcof - Excerpt #1
This piece was composed for Fernando Corona's winter 2008 UK tour, which featured live musicians for the first time. We're not sure if this one will make it to the finished Océano album, scheduled for release later this year, so for now at least, this is an exclusive.
More Info
6. Wildbirds & Peacedrums - There Is No Light
'There Is No Light' is taken from the extraordinary second album by Swedish husband and wife duo Wildbirds & Peacedrums, entitled The Snake. The pair will be touring extensively this year, and we highly recommend you get to see their stripped down, ecstatic live show.
More Info
7. Vladislav Delay - Melankolia (edit)
Finnish producer Sasu Ripatti is best known for his intricately programmed electronic sounds, under the artist names Luomo, Uusitalo, and Vladislav Delay. On his first album as Delay for Leaf, Ripatti makes a move into more acoustic sounds, including, on this track, a piano motif by Craig Armstrong. The album will be released in late summer 2009.
More Info
8. Essie Jain - I Remember It Just Like This
Born in London, but resident in New York, Essie has released two albums on Leaf to date. One of a pair bonus tracks added to our version of Essie's expansive second album, The Inbetween.
More Info
9. volcano! - So Many Lemons
'So Many Lemons' is a brand new song from the Chicago trio, with a strange and wonderful video to match, and takes the band into new and unexplored melodic territory. volcano! released their second album, Paperwork, in 2008.
More Info