BAY 104 - Channel The Spirits (BAY 104)
Leaf Shop
Amazon UK
Amazon US
iTunes UK
iTunes US

Channel The Spirits by The Comet Is Coming
Formats: CD (BAY 104CD) Limited translucent blue and white vinyl + CD "Hyperdrive" edition (BAY 104VX) (500 copies) Limited edition black vinyl LP + CD (BAY 104V) Digital (BAY 104E)
Release Date: 1 April 2016

“Great fire will fall from the sky, the cause will appear both stupefying and marvellous. Very soon after, the earth will tremble.”

As was prophesised by Nostradamus, The Comet Is Coming...

Marvel! As it blazes a streak of phosphorescent beauty across the night sky. Listen! As a trailing meteor shower drops hot coals hissing into topographical oceans. Inhale! The burning funk of strange new flavours. The sound of the future... today.

The Comet Is Coming. Our saviours Danalogue The Conqueror, Betamax Killer and King Shabaka come bearing their debut album Channel The Spirits. A prophetic document. A celebration. The beginning of the end.

The Comet was first observed in 2013, its power growing with increasingly regular sightings culminating in a stellar display at Trans Musicales at the end of 2015CE. The debut EP Prophecy arrived in blaze of light and sound. The word spread. Whispers became shouts - “I believe”. And now comes the mother lode.

Channel The Spirits is a starburst galaxy, a journey through the outer reaches of the cosmos. Over twelve tracks, our fearless stargazers evoke the ghosts of bold experimentalists such as Sun Ra, Funkadelic and the BBC Radiophonic Workshop, reanimate them through twenty-first century technology and send them off hotstepping into the greatest party the universe has seen. Here is the universe in a microcosm; the life-force distilled down to its raw essence: sex and dancing. The rhythm of life.

Over a backdrop of keyboards, drums and electronics that are shimmering and soothing one moment and wig-flipping wayward the next, saxophonist King Shabaka squeezes sounds that echo like the exaltations of visionary voyagers drifting through interplanetary space and time. They shift from the elegiac and the experimental into iridescent molten jazz and full-on intergalactic groove mode.

Dusted in cosmic magic, Channel The Spirits is more than an album – it is a séance, a reckoning, a prophecy, a mission. A transdimensional journey. The Comet Is Coming. Look busy.

Shortlisted for the 2016 Mercury Prize.

Bookmark and Share
1. The Prophecy
2. Space Carnival
3. Journey Through The Asteroid Belt
4. Nano
5. New Age
6. Slam Dunk In A Black Hole
7. Cosmic Dust
8. Star Furnace
9. Channel The Spirits
10. Deep Within The Engine Deck
11. Lightyears (feat. Joshua Idehen)
12. End of Earth