NEWS ARCHIVE FOR OCTOBER 2008
Wildbirds & Peacedrums China & European tour news
Published 15 October 2008 by TM

Swedish duo Wildbirds & Peacedrums have added a whole load of dates to their autumn schedule, including shows in China this week, and their most extensive European tour to date throughout November. They are currently finalizing more North American dates for December, and will return to touring in Europe in early February 2009.

Here's an example of the couple's powerful and energetic live set taken from their show earlier this year at the Bohemia Jazz Fest in Prague, Czech Republic. This track is 'The Window', which can be found on this year's Heartcore.

You can find all the scheduled dates below.

Fri 17 Oct 2008: University of International Business and Economics, Beijing, CHINA
Sat 18 Oct 2008: Central University of Nationalities, Beijing, CHINA
Sun 19 Oct 2008: Nankai Univeristy, Nankai, CHINA
Tue 21 Oct 2008: Sun Yat-Seng University, Guangzhou, CHINA
Wed 22 Oct 2008: Sun Yat-Seng University, Guangzhou, CHINA
Thu 23 Oct 2008: South China University of Technology, Guangzhou, CHINA
Sat 25 Oct 2008: Gerlesborgsskolan, Tanum, SWEDEN
Sun 26 Oct 2008: Umeå Jazzfestival, Scharinska Villan, Umeå, SWEDEN
Thu 30 Oct 2008: Transform Festival, Dokkhuset, Trondheim, NORWAY
Fri 31 Oct 2008: Metropol, Härnösand, SWEDEN
Sat 1 Nov 2008: JazzCologne, Wallraf-Richartz-Museum, Cologne, GERMANY
Sun 2 Nov 2008: Enjoy Jazz, Klub K, Heidelberg, GERMANY
Tue 4 Nov 2008: Restaurang Opus, Gävle, SWEDEN
Wed 5 Nov 2008: Crecendo, Norrköping, SWEDEN
Thu 6 Nov 2008: JazzFest Berlin, Berlin, GERMANY
Fri 7 Nov 2008: Nordic Music Week, Stavanger, NORWAY
Sat 8 Nov 2008: SonoFestival, Viften, Copenhagen, DENMARK
Sun 23 Nov 2008: Rotown, Rotterdam, NETHERLANDS
Tue 25 Nov 2008: Festival Les Boréales, Caen, FRANCE
Wed 26 Nov 2008: Centre Culturel Suédois, Paris, FRANCE
Thu 27 Nov 2008: Le Ciel, Grenoble, FRANCE
Fri 28 Nov 2008: Casa 139, Milan, ITALY
Sat 29 Nov 2008: Init, Rome, ITALY
Sun 30 Nov 2008: Velvet, Rimini, ITALY
Tue 2 Dec 2008: Chelsea, Vienna, AUSTRIA
Wed 3 Dec 2008: Under13, Munich, GERMANY
Thu 4 Dec 2008: Beatpol, Dresden, GERMANY


Vote for Leaf artwork in Art Vinyl competition!
Published 29 October 2008 by TM

Art Vinyl have launched a competition for the best vinyl cover art of 2008. Already nominated is Battle and Victory by Nancy Elizabeth, for which Daniel Halsall designed the cover.

You can vote for any album that was released as an LP in 2008, and seemingly 2007, in the competition, as Nancy's album was released last year. Anyway, feel free to vote for any of our albums of the last year (or so) that have been released on vinyl.

http://www.artvinyl.com/en/nominate/nominations.html


Stream volcano! live in Amsterdam Monday 3 November
Published 30 October 2008 by TM

volcano!'s show at Paradiso in Amsterdam this Monday 3 November will be streamed live on Fabchannel from 8pm (CET). You can catch all of the action here:
http://www.fabchannel.com/volcano_concert/2008-11-03

Meanwhile you can read the band's blog on their revamped website:
http://www.volcanoisaband.com/

Here are the rest of the live dates of the European tour:
Fri 31 Oct 2008: UBU, Rennes, FRANCE (with Fuck Buttons)
Mon 3 Nov 2008: Paradiso (upstairs), Amsterdam, NETHERLANDS
Tue 4 Nov 2008: De Kreun, Kortrijk, BELGIUM (with Daniel Higgs)
Wed 5 Nov 2008: Botanique, Brussels, BELGIUM (with Why?)
Fri 7 Nov 2008: The Fox & Firkin, London, UK
Sat 8 Nov 2008: Korova, Liverpool, UK
Sun 9 Nov 2008: The Roadhouse, Manchester, UK
Mon 10 Nov 2008: The Arches, Glasgow, UK
Tue 11 Nov 2008: The Tunnels, Aberdeen, UK
Thu 13 Nov 2008: Bodega Social Club, Nottingham, UK
Fri 14 Nov 2008: SWN Festival, Clwb Ifor Bach, Cardiff, UK
Sat 15 Nov 2008: The Gander, Bournemouth, UK
Sun 16 Nov 2008: Portland Arms, Cambridge, UK
Mon 17 Nov 2008: Pure Groove (instore at 1330), London, UK
Mon 17 Nov 2008: Hoxton Bar & Kitchen, London, UK
Tue 18 Nov 2008: The Library (upstairs), Leeds, UK
Wed 19 Nov 2008: Whelans (upstairs), Dublin, IRELAND
Thu 20 Nov 2008: Roisin Dubh, Galway, IRELAND